This is a privately owned website that is not owned or operated by any state government agency.

Renewal of Florida Drivers License Info

To renew your Florida drivers license you will need to complete the following steps. It's very important to renew your license before its expiration date (the expiration date will always be on your birth date). If in doubt, double check the expiration date listed on the front face of your current license. Licenses in Florida are valid between six and eight years. If you don't renew in time you will be charged an additional fee. You are allowed to renew your license 18 months in advance.

The Florida DMV might send you a renewal notice / reminder to inform you of your upcoming expiring license. Your latest physical address on file will be used to send this reminder via postal mail. Please make sure to keep the FL DMV updated with your latest address. By law, you are required to update your address no more than 10 days after moving.

Renewing your license in Florida can be done in 3 different ways



Please remember that if you are 80 years or older, you must go in person (read below) because you will need to take and pass your vision test.



  • Visit the FL online renewal site to get started.
  • The first step is to enter either of the following items:
    • Current driver license number.
    • Social security number.
    • Vehicle identification number.
    • License tag number.
  • The second step is to enter your birth date and last 4 digits of your SSN.
  • Follow the instructions.
  • Prepare to pay the $48.00 renewal Fee for Class E licenses. You must add a $15.00 late fee is you are past expiration date. All forms of payment are accepted. You can use a credit card, debit card or even a check.
  • The FL DMV will send your new license via mail and should arrive in approximately one (1) week. 

Via Mail

Only Florida drivers that have received a renewal invitation by mail may use this option. If you do receive a reminder, and by mail is an option, it will contain all instructions. Always keep your address up to date in order to receive these notices.

Instructions consist of filling out an application, and including payment for your renewal. There will be a late fee if your license has expired. After submitting all the paperwork and payment, your license will arrive in one week.

Documents Required for all applicants

Current driver's license

This is a good idea to bring but if you have lost it, it's not required.

Proof of Identification

  • Certified United States birth certificate, including territories and District of Columbia
  • Valid United States Passport or Passport Card
  • Consular Report of Birth Abroad
  • Certificate of Naturalization, Form N-550 or Form N-570
  • Certificate of Citizenship, Form N-560 or Form N-561

Proof of Social Security

  • Social Security card must be an original in your current full name
  • W-2 form (not handwritten)
  • Pay check/stub
  • SSA-1099
  • Any 1099 (not handwritten)

Proof of Residential Address

  • Deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet or residential rental/lease agreement
  • Florida Voter Registration Card
  • Florida Vehicle Registration or Title
  • Florida Boat Registration or Title (if living on a boat/houseboat)
  • Two proofs of residential address from applicant's parent, step-parent, legal guardian or other person with whom the applicant resides, along with (see next)
  • A statement from a parent, step-parent, legal guardian or other person with whom the applicant resides, combined with two proofs of their residential address (see above)
  • A utility hook up or work order dated within 60 days of the application
  • Automobile Payment Booklet
  • Selective Service Card
  • Medical or health card with address listed
  • Current homeowner’s insurance policy or bill
  • Current automobile insurance policy or bill
  • Educational institution transcript forms for the current school year
  • Unexpired professional license issued by a government agency in the U.S.
  • W-2 form or 1099 form

In Person Visit

Some drivers in Florida will be required to pay a visit in person to any DMV office. Reasons may vary but the most common are the following:

  • Your last renewal was done conveniently by mail or via the internet.
  • You are more than 80 years old.
  • Your license is not active and must be reinstated.

You will need to make an appointment at any Florida DMV office. This will save you time instead of spending hours in line. If successful your license will be delivered immediately.

You may always stay up to date with the latest renewal laws and regulations by visiting the official Florida dmv renewal site.